Integrated Cultures ACT is proud to announce an “Essay writing competition” to mark the 150th birth anniversary of the eminent political and spiritual leader of India’s independence movement, Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi, popularly known as “Gandhi”. He pioneered and practiced the principle of Satyagraha—resistance to tyranny through mass nonviolent civil disobedience. He has inspired the civil rights and liberation movements the world over. Apart from being a great leader and freedom fighter, he was a revolutionary, visionary, great thinker, voracious reader, social reformer, writer and humanitarian.

Students from one of the following categories can participate. Word limits apply as indicated.

  • Category 1: Students from year 7 to year 9 – Minimum of 1000 words and a maximum of 1500 words.
  • Category 2: Students from year 10 to year 12 – Minimum of 1500 words and a maximum of 2000 words

Participants can choose one of the below topics. The topics are open to all the categories.

  1. The relevance of Gandhi’s principles in today’s world.
  2. Gandhi – the freedom fighter and civil right activist
  3. Gandhi and non-violence
  4. Gandhi’s leadership qualities
  5. Gandhi – A great inspiration to world’s famous leaders
  6. Gandhi’s experiments with food and health
  7. Gandhi’s spirituality
  8. Gandhi in South Africa

Competition rules

  • Participants should indicate their name, year and school name in footer.
  • Essay should be written in English only, using font Times New Roman, Size 12 with 1.5 line spacing.
  • Participants should list the references they use in essay, but they will not be included in the word count.
  • Completed essays can be emailed to [email protected] on or before 30th April.

The results will be announced by end of May 2019. Winners will receive attractive prizes and cash awards at a special function in June 2019. Date will be announced later.

Closing Date: 30 April 2019

Please contact: [email protected]; more info:

We acknowledge the support of the ACT Government and the High Commission of India, Australia.